Komyokan Instructors

All Komyokan instructors are officially recognized by Aikikai Foundation, have Coaching Level 1 Certificates (certified by the Joint Aikikai Council), fully insured, up to date first aid certifications with over a hundred combined years of experience in Aikido practice and teaching.

Terry Ezra Shihan, (7th Dan So Hombu)

Ezra Shihan
Ezra Shihan 7th Dan

Ezra Shihan has studied Aikido and healing arts for over 50 years. Born on the Wirral, Merseyside in 1945 he began training in Aikido as a teenager. He has continued his studies since with various Japanese teachers. Ezra Shihan was awarded 7th dan in January 2009 from Hombu Dojo, Aikido World Headquarters.

Ezra Shihan is respected throughout the British Isles and many other parts of the world for the quality of his instruction. He has taught in other countries such as Ireland, Greece, Norway, Bulgaria, Poland, Tenerife , Holland, Russia, South Africa and Colombia and is renowned for his understanding and sensitivity. Ezra Shihan teaches throughout the UK on weekend courses.  His life is dedicated to the development of the human consciousness and the spreading of peace and harmony through his intensive training and teaching of Aikido.

Stella Stevenson 6th Dan Shidoin

Stella Stevenson 6th Dan

Video of  a Demonstration  by Stella

Jeremy Garmson 6th Dan Shidoin

Video of Jeremy taking ukemi 

Rod Martin 5th Dan Shidoin

Rod has practiced Aikido for 25 years under Ezra Shihan. Has also practiced with a host of senior Aikido teachers from Aikido World Headquarters including Moriteru UeshibaMitsuteru UeshibaKazuo ChibaMinoru KanetsukaKobayashi Yukimitsu.

Video of Aikido Demo

Nikkyo video

Rod Martin 5th Dan

Jim Pearson 4th Dan Fukushidoin

Martin Davies 4th Dan Fukushidoin

Martin Davies 4th Dan

Marc McDermott 1st Dan

Marc started practicing Aikido with Ezra Shihan in 1994, and Iaido in 2005. He has trained with Moriteru Ueshiba in Hombu Dojo in Tokyo, and a number of other senior Aikido teachers from Japan and elsewhere, including Mitsuteru Ueshiba, Takeshi Yamashima, Atsushi Mimuro, and Mutsuko Minegishi.